RULE 19.1 When Rule 19 applies

Let’s look at what the rule says:

Rule 19.1 When Rule 19 applies

Rule 19 applies between two boats at an obstruction except when rule 18 applies between them and

(a) the obstruction is the mark, or 

(b) the obstruction is another boat overlapped with each of them. However, at a continuing obstruction, rule 19 always applies and rule 18 does not.

Before we delve into the details, let’s remind ourselves what an obstruction is as defined in the rules.

Obstruction An obstruction is

(a) an object that a boat could not pass without changing course substantially, if she were sailing directly towards it and one of her hull lengths from it;

(b) an object that can be safely passed on only one side; or

(c) an object, area or line that is so designated in a rule;

However, a boat racing is not an obstruction to other boats unless they are required to keep clear of her or, if rule 22* applies, avoid her.

(* Rule 22 – Often a capsized dinghy)

In Example 1 below, we see that Blue is not an obstruction to Red because Blue is more than one boat length away, and Red does not need to make a substantial course change.

However, in example 2 we see that  Blue is an obstruction to Red because Red is less than a boat length away, Red needs to make a substantial course change, and the other boats are required to keep clear of Red.

Example 1 - No obstruction
Example 2 - Obstruction

Now that we know what an obstruction is, let’s look at some examples of situations where Rule 19 may apply.

Below in example 3, we see two boats approaching the start line. Green is running out of space but Blue is not bearing off. Can Green claim that the start boat is an obstruction?

NO, because the preamble of Part C states that:

SECTION C

AT MARKS AND OBSTRUCTIONS

Section C rules do not apply between boats when the mark or obstruction referred to in those rules is a starting mark surrounded by navigable water or its anchor line, from the time the boats are approaching it to start until they have left it astern.

Example 3 - Start boat

Compare this with the starting scenario in example 4 below where the start mark is a flag placed on the jetty.

Rule 19 Obstruction 4
Example 4 - No navigable water around the start mark

Scenario 1

Let’s have a look at the events below. Blue and Green are approaching a channel marker. When it becomes apparent that the channel mark will be an obstruction, Green (the windward boat) decides to leave the channel mark on her starboard side, forcing Blue to bear away. After that, Blue immediately protests, claiming Green broke Rule 11.

Rule 19 Obstruction 6

Does Rule 19 apply?

Take a few seconds to look at the scenario. Does Rule 19 apply and why?

YES, Rule 19 aplies

Rule 19 applies because the channel marker is an obstruction and there are two boats at the obstruction. Furthermore, none of Rule 19 exceptions apply.

So to sum up Rule 19.1…

Author

Renaming your boat
The perfect gift

So, you bought a boat. It is beautiful, gracious, and even elegant. Unfortunately, its name suggests otherwise.

Boaty McBoatface wasn’t precisely what you were looking for in a boat name. Neither was the name “Master Baiter” or “Filthy Oar”. And “Bikini Inspector” and “Wasted Seaman” were also not quite to your taste.

You need to change the name of your boat. But before you do, ensure you read this book, for failure to adhere to the name-changing ceremony could lead to the sinking of your boat…

The Book of Maritime Idioms

Many old sailing, maritime, and nautical terms have found new meanings in modern English. From feeling blue to showing your true colours, from pipe down to eating a square meal per day, all these modern expressions find their origin in the maritime industry.

The comprehensive list of 200+ idioms will surprise you. Beautifully illustrated, this book covers the idiom’s etymology, current meaning, and an example of how we use it in modern-day speech.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.